Expert Opinion
Yana Linetska
Association of Milk Producers

Milk market overview in Ukraine and the world

Rising prices for dairy products The FAO dairy price index averaged 147.1 points in April, 1.3 points (0.9%) higher than in March, the eighth consecutive…

Volodymyr Andriіets
Association of Milk Producers

The World Milk Crisis 2020 - what are the scenarios for future events?

The World Milk Crisis 2020 - what are the scenarios for future events? Volodymyr Andriets analyst Association of Milk Producers During the global quarantine analytical…

6 Important Facts About Milk - US Department of Health Guidelines

The updated US Department of Health Food Recommendations for Americans for the next 5 years have confirmed the importance of dairy products, according to the press service of the Association of Milk Producers.

The purpose of the US Department of Health's dietary guidelines is to develop healthy eating habits to improve the nation's health and prevent disease.

The US National Dairy Council has identified 6 important points in the Department of Health's recommendations regarding dairy products:

1. Dairy products are allocated to a separate food group.

2.5 servings of dairy products per day are recommended for adults, three servings for children aged 9-18, and 3 servings for vegetarians.

1 serving = 1 cup (230-250 ml) of yogurt or milk = 40 g of hard natural cheese.

2. Dairy products are basic essential components of a healthy diet.

Research from the US National Dairy Council, the Department of Health, and the Department of Agriculture has confirmed that our daily eating habits from an early age affect our health and well-being.  And now, for the first time in history, the Recommendations state that low-fat, low-fat dairy products are essential components of a healthy diet to maintain good health and prevent disease.

3. Dairy products have a positive effect on health.

Recommended healthy eating regimens, which include milk and dairy products, maintain good health throughout life.  The recommendations once again confirm this statement.  Dairy products have a positive effect on the body in cardiovascular disease, overweight and obesity, type 2 diabetes, bone health, and some cancers (breast and colorectal).

4. Recommendations from the US Department of Health make it clear that not all milk is the same.

Dairy products are separated into a separate series because their nutrient content is difficult to compare with any other product.  The only alternative to dairy products, defined by dietary recommendations, are fortified soy drinks, artificially enriched with nutrients contained in milk.  Other plant-based milk alternatives are not included in the dairy group because their total nutrient content is not comparable to cow's milk.

5. Dairy products are recommended for children from 1 year.

Whole milk, low-fat cheese and plain low-fat yogurt are included in the Recommendations for children from 1 year.

6. You should choose dairy products with low fat content.

The Recommendations state that greater preference should be given to low-fat or non-fat dairy products. Saturated fatty acids should not exceed 10% of the calories we get daily with food and drink.  That is, one portion of dairy products from WHOLE milk.

Source: The National Dairy Council Magazine, January 25, 2021.

For reference: Nutrition guidelines for Americans are published every 5 years by the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) along with the Department of Health (HHS) and Social Services.  These recommendations are used by the government when setting standards for social programs, school meals, and more.

In general, the document recommends that the government focus on healthy eating to develop a healthy eating habit.